DIY French Panel

FrenchPanel20

Hello DIY Decor friends!!

Have you ever seen those beautiful, French panels used in decor? You usually see them propped against something or hanging on the wall. They’re amazing and they are also expensive. Well, today is your lucky day because I’m going to show you how to make one of your own. All you need is a board from your local home improvement center and a few Iron Orchid Designs products. Ready? Let’s get started!

Here is a list of what you will need:

12″ X 5′ board (you can use a smaller board if you prefer)

IOD Vintage Art Decor Mould ” Fleur” item #81529

IOD Vintage Art Decor Mould “Moulding 1” item #815325

IOD Vintage Art Decor Mould “Nautica 2” Item #815332

IOD Paper Clay item #814991

Wood Glue – I used Gorilla brand wood glue

white chalky finish paint – I used Amy Howard One Step in Baunhaus Buff

blue chalky finish paint – I used Americana Decor in Serene

antiquing glaze

gold acrylic paint – I used Folk Art Metallic Antique Gold (658)

paint brushes

paper towels

Gather all of your supplies together. You’ll notice I’ve used a paper clay that I picked up from Hobby Lobby. I didn’t have any IOD paper clay on hand. I ran out during my last project and this is what I had available.

FrenchPanel6

The first step is to dry brush your board with the white chalky finish paint. I took mine outside for this step so it would dry really fast. I’m kind of impatient that way.

FrenchPanel7

Once it dries, apply antiquing glaze to the entire surface and then wipe it away. This will give your board a weathered look. Now it’s time to make mould castings.

 

I used the small angels, the garland and tassels, and the beaded moulding you see here, for this project. I pressed the clay into the moulds to create the castings and then set them aside as the glaze dried on my board. A little tip: lightly brush the insides of your moulds with a bit of cornstarch to help the clay release super quick and easy.

FrenchPanel8

FrenchPanel9

 

Apply the moulds to your completely dry board with wood glue. Make sure the glue is applied all the way to the edges of your casting so that it adheres really well all the way around. You can glue the castings to your board while the clay is still wet.

FrenchPanel10

This is what your board will look like once everything is glued into place. At this point, I set it aside and let the mould castings dry overnight.

FrenchPanel12

The next step is to dry brush the entire piece with the blue chalky finish paint. Then I used a smaller, detail brush to completely cover all of the mouldings with the paint.

FrenchPanel13

Once dry, use another small brush to paint just the mouldings with the gold acrylic paint.

FrenchPanel14

Once that step is complete, your project will look like this. The next step is where the magic happens. Antiquing glaze!!

FrenchPanel15

Dip your paper towel into the glaze

FrenchPanel16

and start applying it all over your project. This is where you can customize the look that you want. Go as heavy or as lightly as you want. This is where you create depth and age in the paint and in the exposed wood areas. I used another small brush to get in the detailed areas within and around the moulds.

Wipe away with a clean paper towel as you go to create a beautiful, aged patina.

FrenchPanel18

That’s it! Easy Peasy! Now sit back and admire all of your hard work. You now have an amazing piece of old world French art.

FrenchPanel19

Thanks so much for joining me today! Happy creating!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY French Panel

  1. Hi there, I’m a new follower that loves what you create! This is beautiful, great techniques and products.
    Thank you for sharing, I hope to try something like this soon, I’m encourage by you.
    Blanca M.

    Like

    1. Hi Blanca! Welcome ❤️ I’m so happy that you are following along and are encouraged by what you see here! Thank you so much for your kind words, I’m glad that you stopped by. Have a wonderful weekend friend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

